Bixolon SRP-770 Samsung Bixolon SRP770 Thermal Label Printer

Issues, questions, information about creating, printing and working with bar codes and bar code readers

Moderators: sami, graham

Unable to print Barcode Bixolon SRP770 Thermal Label

Postby santharam » Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:09 pm

I have installed the following printer for POS software of 'retail man'.

Bixolon SRP-770 Samsung Bixolon SRP770 Thermal Label Printer

I can print barcode labels from other windows programs. But I cannot print barcodes from "Retail Man". But the barcode printer is working, but it prints blank

My operating system is Win XP SP2.

Can anybody help me?
santharam
Standard
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 8:56 pm

Postby Jaeger » Fri Sep 01, 2006 12:20 am

Have you installed the bar code font as in Grahams post?
Jaeger
Standard
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:37 pm
Location: Lancashire, United Kingdom

barcode reading problem

Postby santharam » Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:34 pm

Dear Mr.Graham Morris,

I have checked the printer of "samsung SRP 770 Thermal label Printer",
after installing printer driver. It is not supporting. Later I purchased
"Zebra Printer". It is working well. Now no problem of label printing. I
am using now "Zebra Printer-LP2844".

I have barcode reading problem. Before I tried with "datalogic" barcode
scanner. It doen't read the barcode. Later I purchased "Matrologic"
barcode scanner-MS9535. It was working at the supplier end. When I bring
to my office. It doesn't read our barcode.

Please refer the following sample data.

part_no
112-31-12-BEIGE
112-31-14-BEIGE
112-31-16-BEIGE
112-31-18-BEIGE
112-31-20-BEIGE
112-31-22-BEIGE
112-31-24-BEIGE
112-38-12-BLACK
112-38-12-CREAM
112-38-12-WHITE
112-38-14-BLACK
112-38-14-CREAM
112-38-14-WHITE
112-38-16-BLACK
112-38-16-CREAM
112-38-16-WHITE
112-38-18-BLACK
112-38-18-CREAM
112-38-18-WHITE
112-38-20-BLACK
112-38-20-CREAM
112-38-20-WHITE
112-38-22-BLACK
112-38-22-CREAM
112-38-22-WHITE
112-38-24-BLACK
112-38-24-CREAM
112-38-24-WHITE



Using the sample data I have created barcode labels with the "Retailman".
Supplier says that the barcode reading problem is from the software only
or from the barcode font.

Please advise us to solve the problem.

I would like to be reseller of your software. In this case I cann't market
your software. Please try to solve the "barcode reading" problem.

Looking forward...

with Best Regards
ovs reddy
santharam
Standard
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 8:56 pm

Postby Jaeger » Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:46 am

Image
Jaeger
Standard
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:37 pm
Location: Lancashire, United Kingdom

Barcode Scanner canot read

Postby semosoft » Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:28 pm

I Have the Same problem
I have installed the 128c font and i can see it at the screen and it print ok ok on the labels but the problem is the scanner can't read the bardoe from the labels
semosoft
Standard
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:24 pm

Postby Jaeger » Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:05 pm

(Mr Graham - Scaredy Cat. :wink: )

Nice scanner the Image


Firstly lets get a couple of things out the way, I don't sell Barcode Scanners, I don't sell printers and I don't sell Retail Man.

The software, that is Retail Man, is not at fault.

If Retail Man works when you type in the code manually then Retail Man is working.

A Barcode Scanner is simply a Keyboard interface, and the Scanner translates what it reads into Keyboard output and basically Stuffs it into the Keyboard Port, the computer/software accepts the input exactly the same way as it would if you keyed the numbers/letters in on the keyboard.

So. If your Scanner is not reading the Barcode, what can that possibly have to do with Retail Man. That's like blaming the software because your monkey cannot type.

What you would do then is either educate the monkey to produce better results or get another monkey.

OK? We need to look at the Scanner and Barcode that is being printed.

I would say your Scanner is fine (should be as it is new).
So this leaves the Barcode and the Printer.

There are a number of problems with barcodes which could cause this problem.
The Barcode could be too small. Try printing a LARGER barcode.

The Barcode could be too LARGE (but that is a rare thing, just be careful not to go too BIG)

The Barcode is too wide. Barcodes Scanners require a 'White Space' area also know as the 'quiet zone', without it they do not know where the start and finish of the code is and cannot read. Make sure your Barcodes are inside the label and have a quiet zone.

The quality of the print is not good enough, which could be your printer, is printing in Save Toner, Economy or Draft mode.

Make sure your printer is printing in Letter or Best Quality; Barcodes are very particular and need to be printed on both good quality paper and at High Resolution.

Don't come back and tell me your printer is new or your printer is good. I don't care how good or how new it is. I do care it is printing a GOOD Quality output. Once we've established that then we can try and help further.

Please do keep calm, I print hundreds of Barcode Labels from a Dymo Turbo 400 label printer and they scan fine. I'd be happy to post one to any of you if you want to test/check your Barcode print Size and your Printer Quality. I’ll even take your ‘Sample Data’ and print you a Barcode Label with that on it, scan it to confirm it does read and send it to you?

Oh and I don’t work for Retail Man or Mr Graham Morris. I’m just a Retail Man user like you who would like to help you if you want help.

:lol:
Jaeger
Standard
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:37 pm
Location: Lancashire, United Kingdom

Feedback from Graham

Postby graham » Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Jaeger wrote:(Mr Graham - Scaredy Cat. :wink: )


Oh and I don’t work for Retail Man or Mr Graham Morris. I’m just a Retail Man user like you who would like to help you if you want help.

:lol:


Allan, thanks for your detailed feedback on the barcodes. I hoped that this has clarified matters, and the problems have been fixed now.

:o

Graham Morris
graham
Site Admin
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:07 pm
Location: UK

Postby Jaeger » Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:00 pm

I wonder?

Image
Jaeger
Standard
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:37 pm
Location: Lancashire, United Kingdom

Postby sami » Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:48 am

The input from Jaeger is excellent, but let me add also that some barcode scanners do not come configured to recognise the Barcode 128 font, so it has to be enabled (ususally, most barcode scanners can be configured by scanning certain barcodes that come printed in the user manual).

There is also the problem of using the wrong stationary, I have noticed your part numbers are large, so the barcode font would equally be large, so if you use small labels to fit the chances are the barcode would not print fully, which would cause the scanner not to recognise it. Also using the wrong stationary (such as using stationary designed for laser printers with bubble jet printers would cause smudging, in which case, the scanner would have a hard time tryng to recognise the barcode font.

We have tried some of your codes and printed those on the AVERY 7159 stationay using a laser printer, the output came out nicely and the barcode scanner was able to read the barcodes without any difficulty. Please try printing using the same stationary (you can use a standard A4 Paper on a laser printer) and try scanning, if it scans OK, then you will need to modify the smaller labels to expand the barcode font.
sami
Site Admin
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:00 pm
Location: Australia

barcode font is too small

Postby semosoft » Sat Sep 16, 2006 3:31 pm

Yeah that's the problem i'm using 3 columns x 11 rows labels
the barcode font is too small that's why the scanner can't read it
you have to find a solution to make it bigger cause i can't use a larger labels
semosoft
Standard
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:24 pm

Postby sami » Sat Sep 16, 2006 4:25 pm

Which stationary are you using?
we can try and expand the barcode font for you and send you the files to try out.
sami
Site Admin
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Bixolon SRP-770 Samsung Bixolon SRP770 Thermal Label Pri

Postby hadrixy » Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:12 am

How do I list an item that is not currently not on Amazon.com if I don't have a barcode? I know they require a barcode for new items but I see other sellers selling items I get from the same distributor that do not have bar codes, how are they listing these items? Usually items that are not intended to be sold in a storefront setting (especially those that come from overseas) do not have bar codes, so how are these types of items supposed to be sold on Amazon?
_______________________________
keyword research ~ keyword tool ~ keyword tracking ~ affiliate elite
hadrixy
Standard
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:49 am

Re: Bixolon SRP-770 Samsung Bixolon SRP770 Thermal Label Pri

Postby alainapeterson » Mon Sep 05, 2011 11:19 am

he Bixolon SRP-770 Thermal Label Printer provides top quality label printing for any application. With a print speed of 5 inches per second the SRP-770 will keep pace with demand. High print definition ensures excellent read quality, even with the smallest text and the latest bar codes.



Features

* Multiple Interface Standard
* Most Bar Code Types Available
* Versatile Fonts Supported
* Logo Printing (BMP, PCX File)
* Peel-Off (Dispenser) Standard
* 7-1/4"W x 8-11/16"L x 6-3/4"H

Applications

* Retail Shelf and Product
* Shipping/Receiving
* Warehouse
* Transportation
* Medical
* Inventory and Asset Labeling
* Logistics
* Quality Control
* Security
* Pre-Packing
* Compliance
__________________
Internet Advertising
alainapeterson
Standard
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:59 am
Location: Ireland


Return to Bar Codes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron